using UPDATE in SQL?

• Can anyone help I'm trying to update a table on my SQL server, the line of code I'm using in the stored procedure is the following

CREATE  PROCEDURE spSaveDaysArea  @sName as VarChar(200),@sArea as VarChar(100), @sDate1 as VarChar(20)

AS

declare @sql as varchar(5000)

set @sql = 'update [TI Work] set [' + @sArea + ']' +' =  [' + @sName + ']  where [date1] =  ' + @sDate1 + ''

exec (@sql)

GO

but I'm getting an invalid colomn error, any ideas?

• The Curse and Blessings of Dynamic SQL

Why are you using dynamic sql for this???

• because I'm using a vairable for the field name

• Ok, why using dynamic field names??

Did you read the link?

• I did actually read the link before posting my question on the forum, I couldn't see anything that could help me, I'm just starting out using an SQL server and I'm in the process of converting some of my program in VB to use this

• k, Go back one step. What problem are you trying to solve using this sp?

• I'm trying to update a database using VB and passing the name of the field and the data I want to put in that particular field, if that makes sence, incidently the field @sDate1  is a date/time field

• Not the way you're doing it. You should use static sql for this.

UPDATE dboTable set Col1 = @Param1, Col2 = @Param2 where DateKey = @DateVariable

• I've actually got it working. At Last !!!

here's what I used :-

CREATE  PROCEDURE spSaveDaysArea  @sName as VarChar(200),@sArea as VarChar(100), @sDate1 as VarChar(100)

AS

declare @sql as varchar(5000)

set @sql = 'update [TI Work] set ['+ @sArea +']' + ' =  '''+ @sName +'''  where [date1] =  ''' + @sDate1 + ''' '

exec (@sql)

GO

Many thanks for the assistance

• Let me rephrase what I meant this whole time in clearer terms.

1 - You totally missed out the real point of store procs.

2 - You're going against every best practices in the book.