Using SSISDB to manage multiple environments

• I am fairly new to SSIS and don't know a whole lot about it. I have been trying to follow an article on using SQL Server 2012 SSISDB with the Integration Services Catalog and 2012 VS SSDT to upgrade an older 2005 package that does some basic ETL work. My problem is that we only needed the one package for production using two connection strings throughout the Data Model to pull data from one database, transform it, and load to second database on the same SQL server, but now, after upgrading to 2012, we have four separate dedicated environments, Development (DEV), System Test (SYT), User Acceptance (UAT), and Production. I need to be able to create a single project/package in development that the DBA's can deploy to the other three environments by only updating in one place to indicate environment server without having to change multiple connections all over the place in the Data Model.

I believe what I need is to design a package for the DEV environment using two project parameters for the two databases and with four environment variables for each parameter in the Catalog, where each the variables indicate the specific server for each of the four environments (DEV, SYT, UAT, or Prod). However, my DBA, who has never done this either, is telling me I just need have two environment variables for the two databases and they will create a new package to deploy to the each of the four environment servers. Which of us correct? and once I have it defined correctly, I am still at a loss as how the Data Model object is configured to use the parameter/variable instead of an explicit connection string for each object. Can someone please point me in the right direction?

Ron K.

"Any fool can write code that a computer can understand. Good programmers write code that humans can understand." -- Martin Fowler

• Ron Kunce (3/5/2015)