Using Pull Down menu to Populate the page from DB

• Hi guys,

does anyone know how to populate the page's text boxes and pull down menus using an initial pull down menu at the top without using a button? Is there any such way? Or do I really have to use the button thing? Right now, I have one that uses a button after the first pull down menu field which populates the data in the rest of the fields if the user clicks on the button.

Otherwise, is there any way to disable the text fields and buttons if the initial button is not clicked?

Marvin

• I think we need more info. VB? ASP? what language? Is there a SQL issue involved?

Andy

• Have you looked into the onchange? I'm not too experienced with scripting in web pages, but I recall having done something along these lines a few years back. Here's a link, has to do with MS-centric development and it's flavor of design-time controls:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/vidref98/html/viproonchangeevent.asp

• http://www.asp101.com http://www.15seconds.com are both good places to start for asp and db pulldown navigation.

• Hi guys,

i'm working in ASP in a Microsoft SQL Server environment. I dunno whether the Onchange event works in ASP but i do know that it works in VB.

Marvin

• Yes there is an onChange event in java Script. Just add the event handler to the tag. <SELECT name="dropDown" onChange="dropDownChanged()"> Then add the function dropDownChanged() in a <Script> section.

• Yah I have found out about it already. Thnx dude. 🙂 But I have another question here : I am using Commandtext as the SQL statement. Is it possible to execute it like this:

Set rsbanner = newscmd.Execute ??

I have tried it but found that they are asking for the initialisation of my newscmd which i have initialised in a seperate include file.

my code looks something like this:

<SCRIPT LANGUAGE="VBSCRIPT">

Sub BannerType_onChange()

counter = AddBanner.BannerType.SelectedIndex

If counter = 1 Then