Using Newly Created Column for doing further calcualtions in SAME Query

• Hi

I am new to SQL Programming. I am learning the basics. I am trying to create a simple query like this -

SELECT

Column_1,

Column_2,

Column_3,

10*Column_1 AS Column_4,

10*Column_2 AS Column_5,

-- I am not being able to understand how to do this particular step Column_1*Column_5 As Column_6

FROM Table_1

First 3 Columns are available within the Original Table_1

The Column_4 and Column_5 have been created by me, by doing some Calculations related to the original columns.

Now, when I try to do FURTHER CALCULATION on these newly created columns, then SQL Server does not allows that.

I was hoping that I will be able to use the Newly Created Columns 4 and 5 within this same query to do further more calculations, but that does not seems to be the case, or am I doing something wrong here ?

If I have to create a new column by the name of Column_6, which is actually a multiplication of Original Column_1 and Newly Created Column_5 "I tried this - Column_1*Column_5 As Column_6", then what is the possible solution for me ?

Please suggest the various options possible for doing this.

I have tried to present my problem in the simplest possible manner. The actual query has many original columns from Table_1 and many Calculated columns that are created by me.And now I have to do various calculations that involve making use of both these type of columns.

If I have not been able to make myself clear then please tell and I will give more examples.

Thanks a lot for any help.

• Hi,

You cant reference a column alias in the same select statement it was created.

You will either need to do Column1*10*column2 as Column6

or wrap it in a cte first

with cte as (

SELECT

Column_1,

Column_2,

Column_3,

10*Column_1 AS Column_4,

10*Column_2 AS Column_5

)

select *, column1*column5 as Column6

from cte

• matak (4/12/2015)

Hi,

with cte as (

SELECT

Column_1,

Column_2,

Column_3,