Upgrading the GIS application and database.

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item Upgrading the GIS application and database.

• Very useful reminder to look at the easy things to check first before searching for the obscure. Good article.

Graham

• Hate to seem picky, but did I miss were you said at the beginning what GIS stands for? If so, I apologize, but if not, you really should have defined it as early as possible, even in the title.

• Great to see the occasional article on GIS(Geographic Information System(s)) on the SQL site Hilda E! I have been a GIS Manager for the last 15 yrs and am preparing to move my GIS desktop based operation to a network based SQL operation. I have a new 64-bit server loaded with SQL-v12 and the new ArcGIS Server v10.2 all ready to go, but no time to make the move. I now plan to pay more attention to your advise of 'planning and consistency' as I move my operation into the future. I also plan to keep separate test and production environments. Glad you didn't fall for the old tact as others often do of one blaming the other for hard to remedy or intermittent errors---MS saying its an ESRI issue, and ESRI saying its a MS issue. Hope to see more articles on these new 'best friends' very soon!

• Not picky at all. Writing for an audience in my opinion is not an easy task. Most time I tend to forget that the reader may not and probably won't know everything I'm mentioning. Thank you for the note. I'll definitely keep it in mind for possible future articles.

Thank you.

• Thank you for defining GIS for me.

• Ha! You tricked me... I thought this was going to be about an issue with managing a GiS Database especially when it came to the ArcSde 9.3 to 10.0 upgrade. In addition to be a DBA, I'm also a GIS Analyst.