Upgrading SQL Server Central

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item Upgrading SQL Server Central

• I've been a DBA 10 years at 4 different companies now and they all have purchased the extended support (usually via SA), effectively giving the product a 10 year shelf life.  I can't imagine worry about upgrading every instance every 4+ years.

[font="Tahoma"]Personal blog relating fishing to database administration:[/font]

[font="Comic Sans MS"]https://davegugg.wordpress.com[/url]/[/font]

• Our line has always been the loss of extended support.   We've got enough prepaid support hours built into our enterprise agreement to cover the once every three years or so I need to call MS support over a SQL issue.  If it weren't for security patches going away with extended support we would probably run many SQL boxes longer than 10 years.  Trying to keep everything on general support levels would require us doubling the size of our DBA team with the new guys doing nothing but upgrades.  Not an effective expenditure.

• Interesting. I know sometimes for compliance reasons, you need to show support. For me, my view has usually been security patches still come, so if it's been working for 4-5 years, I stop worrying and expect it to last 10 years.

In the SQLServerCentral history, we were SQL 2000 for a long time, then finally SQL 2016, now looking to move again. I think we could still run on 2012 (not sure about 2008R2-), and be fine.

• I spent much of the first half of this year doing upgrades to get off SQL2012.  Was mostly successful by the deadline, the exception being about 25 servers which were either running an application being decommissioned before the end of the year or running a vendor supplied application which couldn't run on a newer version.  Still waiting on the vendor for 18 of those servers to supply the fix they promised in the 3rd quarter to allow the SQL upgrade.