upgrading from 2000 enterprise to 2005 standard

• I am upgrading my 2 node cluster. since i cannot go from 2000 ent to 2005 standard just want to know which option are best to get to 2005 standard.

What i would like to know is has anyone upgraded from sql 2000 ent to sql 2005 ent and then downgraded to 2005 standard.

Would it be better to uninstall 2000 ent and reinstall the cluster under sql 2005 standard ?

Any help would on this issue would be great.

• ron morgan (7/20/2010)

I am upgrading my 2 node cluster. since i cannot go from 2000 ent to 2005 standard just want to know which option are best to get to 2005 standard.

What i would like to know is has anyone upgraded from sql 2000 ent to sql 2005 ent and then downgraded to 2005 standard.

Would it be better to uninstall 2000 ent and reinstall the cluster under sql 2005 standard ?

Any help would on this issue would be great.

[font="Courier New"]Disclaimer: I am NOT an expert DBA and I haven't done any major installtions.

I would recommend that you look at SQL Server 2008 instead of 2005. If you move to 2005 then you are looking at another upgrade in less than 2 years. SQL Server 2005 SP4 will come later this year and end of support in 12 months after that.

Also, I would recommend doing a side by side installation and do a backup and restore to the SQL Server 2005/2008 installation.

[/font]

[font="Courier New"]Sankar Reddy | http://SankarReddy.com/[/url][/font]

• I would agree with the advice for 2008. I'm not sure it makes sense to go to 2005 as support is already waning on that product (it's 2010, 5 years old).

You are correct that you don't have a supported upgrade path (http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms143393%28v=SQL.100%29.aspx)