upgrade from sql server 2000 to 2005

• Hi all,

recently we are trying to migrate our sql server 2000 database to a sql server 2005 database server. I am a newbie for sql server 2005 and I don't know if the first step is just backup our database on sql server 2000 and then restore it directly on sql server 2005?

what issues I should expect?

I have some DTS packages on 2000 version. Does that mean as long as I ask our administrator to turn on DTS package on 2005 server, and it shouldn't have any problem.

My database have some functions, stored procedure, and the whole database is not that sophisticated. can you shed light on me?

Thanks.

Betty

• There is more to sql2005 then just the db-engine !

SSIS is something totaly different than dts.

May I emphasize you need to start with SQLServer upgrade advisor.

It checks your sql2000 sb/server and will highlight issues you need to address before the move !

Johan

Learn to play, play to learn !

Dont drive faster than your guardian angel can fly ...
    but keeping both feet on the ground wont get you anywhere :w00t:

- How to post Performance Problems
    - How to post data/code to get the best help[/url]

- How to prevent a sore throat after hours of presenting ppt

press F1 for solution, press shift+F1 for urgent solution 😀

Need a bit of Powershell? How about this

Who am I ? Sometimes this is me but most of the time this is me

• Thanks for your advice.

Based on your instruction, I downloaded the advisory and I tried to analyze against our intranet

sql server with a lot of databases on it.( I only need to analyze one database),

but by default, it always display my computer name as sql server name, and I tried to connect to remote intranet sql database server, it refuses to take it.

how do I "change the Server name

on the SQL Server Components pane." where is the sql server component pane?

Thanks

Betty

• Hi all,

Now I am able to analyze the remote database.