Unsure about Fact and Dimension

• Hi

I have been working with SQL for years but i am new to data warehousing. i am trying to model some insurance data and am wondering if i can have a Policy Transaction fact who's granularity is an individual policy line from the policy table and also have a policy dimension from the same table.

Also my fact table has about 30 measures is this to many?

Kind Regards

Paul

Cheers, Paul

• paul.ingham (7/2/2010)

...am wondering if i can have a Policy Transaction fact who's granularity is an individual policy line from the policy table and also have a policy dimension from the same table.

Not sure what you mean.

In a star schema you can expect your FACT_POLICIES table to be surrounded by a bunch of DIMensional tables.

paul.ingham (7/2/2010)

Also my fact table has about 30 measures is this to many?

There is not such a thing as too many, fact table should have as many measures as needed.

Author of Understanding Database Administration available at Amazon and other bookstores.

Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.
  • Thanks PaulB

I guess what i am trying to say in the first question is can the facts from one table be used in the fact table and have a dimension from the same table, ie factPolicy have a dimension of DimPolicy both getting their source data from the same table.

The policy table has non measures in it that are facts that will need o be reported on but the table is mostly made up of measures.

Thanks Paul

Cheers, Paul

• Hi Paul,

I have a similiar design that I have been struggling with... and still are... I was wondering if you came up with a solution in the meantime 🙂

Some detail: