Unable to Browse Data in a cube

• Hello,

I'm new to this forum and I'm hoping to both obtain and give information. I'm new to Analysis Service and trying to learn it on my own.

I have an issue when I attempt to browse data in a cube, the following error is being displayed "Unable to browse the cube 'Sales' Unspecified error". There is no error number to look this up from. I have created the ODBC connection to the database and SQL Server & Analysis Service is running.

Does anyone have any ideas?

Thanks,

Peter 🙂

Peter M. Florenzano

Database Administrator

• This is an error that shows up often on systems that do not have sp3 for analysis services installed.

Ray Higdon MCSE, MCDBA, CCNA

------------

• Hi Ray,

Thank you for your prompt response. I'm running MS Windows XP Professional Edition along with MS SQL Server 2000 Evaluation Edition.

Does the evaluation edition come with SP3 or is it just for Windows 2000?

Thanks,

Peter

Peter M. Florenzano

Database Administrator

• Welcome to the !Joy! of debugging MSOLAP. It's handled errors are about as helpful as a sackful of pissed monkeys.

Is this the only cube with this error? What NT account is MSOLAP running under? What NT account are you running under? Do you have NT Admin rights to change that if needed? What database is providing the repository; Access or SQL? What is the backend? etc, etc ...

Keith Henry

DBA/Developer/BI Manager

Keith Henry

According to everyone I know I "do something with computers?" for a living, so there you go.

• Hello Keith,

Thank you for your response. Here are the answers to your following questions:

I'm running Windows XP, not NT and it's running under my windows account with full administrator rights.

The database is a MS Access database. The fact table is sales_fact_1998.

If I open the database in MS Access, I can see the data there but not in Analysis Manager.

I'm not sure what you mean by the backend.

Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,