Trying to rebuild indexes on an Azure DB [FIXED]

• Hello,

I have very little experience with Azure DBs.  I'm finding myself in need of having to maintain one such DB, and I could really use some guidance.

The Azure DB pertains to an application that has begun to timeout frequently.  I ran a query to check for index fragmentation and am seeing that fragmentation is very high across most of the tables.  All I want to do is rebuild indexes.

When I connect to this database through SQL Server Management Studio using the server admin login defined in the Azure Portal, I find that my options in general are quite limited, nothing like I would usually see as a db_owner.

When I run the T-SQL to rebuild indexes on a table, I get this error:

"Cannot find the object [mytable] because it does not exist or you do not have permissions."

I'm unable to right-click the indexes and rebuild through the UI either.  Nor can I add this login to any database roles via T-SQL.  It seems that this server admin login doesn't have the permissions it needs.

Does this need to be set up in the Azure Portal?  Where would I find it?

FIXED: This was a T-SQL error, not a permissions issue.

• This topic was modified 2 years, 1 month ago by  tarr94.
  • I would probably not bother to rebuild indexes,  I would suggest updating statistics.

I've set up a Runbook and execute stored procedures that are in place in all of the databases that update statistics.

I've never rebuilt indexes in three years of having databases in Azure

Michael L John
    If you assassinate a DBA, would you pull a trigger?
    To properly post on a forum:
    http://www.sqlservercentral.com/articles/61537/

• It looks like the login did have the permissions it needed, and that the issue was related to the T-SQL I was trying to use to rebuild the indexes.

Michael, does your opinion on not running indexes apply to all SQL Server databases, or just Azure ones?  I'd be curious to hear your reasoning.

• tarr94 wrote: