Trigger to send an email when ever a table is updated

• hi all

i want to monitor a table for any changes (update, create , delete) and send an email when ever there is a change. in the email i would want some of the fields that were changed or created.

is a trigger the best option? and if so can anyone point me in the right direction as im pretty new to SQL programming?

• If your requirement is to send out the mail for every insert/update/delete it may slow down your application performance if number of transactions are high.

If number of transactions to this table is low trigger is suitable option.

Are you talking about "create" also? I guess this is insert.

• hi Vidya

i actually only want to email on a create and delete. It is a stock table so really it should not have that many creates or deletes.

i am trying the below example, but, see where the If statement > 1000, if i omit this will i get all entries?

CREATE TRIGGER expensiveInventoryMailer ON dbo.inventory AFTER INSERT AS

DECLARE @price money

DECLARE @item varchar(50)

SET @price = (SELECT price FROM inserted)

SET @item = (SELECT item FROM inserted)

IF @price >= 1000

BEGIN

DECLARE @msg varchar(500)

SET @msg = 'Expensive item "' + @item + '" entered into inventory at $' + CAST(@price as varchar(10)) + '.'

--// CHANGE THE VALUE FOR @recipients

EXEC msdb.dbo.sp_send_dbmail @recipients=N'manager@domain.com', @body= @msg, @subject = 'SQL Server Trigger Mail', @profile_name = 'DBMailProfile'

END

GO

• From the above code you would get either one mail or no mail at all. You will have to use a cursor or a While loop to loop through all the records.

Kingston Dhasian

How to post data/code on a forum to get the best help - Jeff Moden
    http://www.sqlservercentral.com/articles/Best+Practices/61537/

• really?

my thinking was the trigger would only be activated upon a new entry being CREATED?

why would i want to loop through all the records when i only want the new record?