Transaction Log backups causing problems

• Last week I set up transaction log backups finally on my main database here (I took over the operations here about 8 months ago, finally getting on top of things).  I backup to a 2nd server, with a gigabit switch between them (one hop, on the same switch).

Now the application that uses this database (web based application, internal use only) suddenly have a problem.  It once in a while get a 505 error (page can not be displayed) on saves.  I have turned tloag backups off for today to see if we still have the problem or not.  There are no errors, and I do not see where the stored procedure that does the save start but does not finnish (have a trace running).

Anyone else ever seen a tlog backup causing problems?  In 12 years of being a DBA I have never had problems with this.

• Hi,

if you back up to a different server a whole lot of factors get added. There can be DNS problems, permission problems, physical problems, driver problems...

What's the size of the log files, and are the server network cards gigabit too? Are backups and user requests going over the same network card? Might be a bandwidth problem?

I'd prefer to do the log backups locally, then copy the files to the second server.

Did you try to back up locally yet?

regards

karl

Best regards
    karl

• Gigabit on each server, each log backup (except the first one of the day after batch) had a max size of 35 MB and took around 4 seconds to run.

It does share the same network card with user request.

Would this be any different than copying the files though?  My full backups go to local disk, then immediately to tape.  In the past I have copied the 7GB full backup to the same second server in the middle of the day without causing a problem.

My next step is to try to backup to local server.