Transaction Log

• Hi Team,

I am very new to DBA environment

Transaction log backups could not support simple recovery model Why ?

Could you any body please explaine. step by step...

Thanks

• I think a good place to start on this is to check books online or google Recovery Models..

In simple recovery mode, the log will checkpoint and you will lose the transaction chain. Thus a log backup serves absolutely nothing.

Jason...AKA CirqueDeSQLeil
    Learn Extended Events

• Simple recovery means that you don't want the log to be retained and you don't need point in time recovery. Hence no log backups. Full and bulk logged means that you want to prevent reuse until a log backup is taken because you need point in time recovery.

Please read through this - Managing Transaction Logs[/url]

Gail Shaw
    Microsoft Certified Master: SQL Server, MVP, M.Sc (Comp Sci)
    SQL In The Wild: Discussions on DB performance with occasional diversions into recoverability

We walk in the dark places no others will enter
    We stand on the bridge and no one may pass
  • Hi Team,

In simple recovery model does't support point of failure why ?

In Full recovery model point of failure is supporting why ?

can any body give me good explanations ?

Thanks for advance.. really appreciate those guys..

• shiv-356842 (9/12/2010)

In simple recovery model does't support point of failure why ?

Because that's the way it's designed

In Full recovery model point of failure is supporting why ?

Because that's the way it's designed

Have you read through Books Online as recommended?

The main point and reason for the recovery models is that two retain the log allowing for log backups and point-in-time recovery and one doesn't. So depending on whether you need the ability to do point in time recoveries or not, you then select the appropriate recovery model

Gail Shaw
    SQL In The Wild: Discussions on DB performance with occasional diversions into recoverability