Trace vs Profile

• Disclaimer: I'm new to tracing - until looking at a 300 page 'hardening' script three weeks ago my knowledge was limited to what I read on the forums here, with no practical experience.

I've adapted code to build a trace of login/logout only; I've used the Profiler to run a similar trace. I've managed to create trace files, browse trace files, and prove that all is what I get is not what I want.

What I need: a trace that can be launched automatically every time SQL Server starts (via Agent?), and runs continuously [yes, I understand the disk management issues and know they need to be monitored and handled external to the trace].

First issue:

In Profiler, I can create a trace that does EXACTLY what I want to do. But, (a) every time SQL Server is restarted, the trace has to be re-created, (b) as soon as I close Profiler, the trace ends, and (c) I cannot get a T-SQL code equivalent out of Profiler to verify against what I've written in a stored procedure.

Second issue:

I can write a stored procedure to create a trace that persists until the next restart (independent of Profiler). BUT, I cannot get it to successfully filter certain system login ids that I don't want to see. I can filter login ids created in SQL Server (both sql server ids and windows ids - mixed authentication). Unable to filter the 'SYSTEM' id, using values 1, 6, and 64 using displayed content in the trace file (is there a trailing space I can't see, possibly?).

I have to go back and forth between my desk and the secured server area in order to run my testing (mstsc.exe not working right), so I can't provide code samples easily (specific questions in response will be answered as best I can, to provide more detail).

Once this is solved, there are additional traces to run, but this is an 'easy' task to start with....TIA!;-)