What are the top 10 things a Sr DBA should know?

• Hi all,

I haven't posted in here in a millennia … or so it seems! I took a 2 year hiatus from DBA'ing and now am interviewing for a Sr. DBA role at a local firm. I have over 20 years of SQL experience and 10+ years of DBA experience. I need to brush up on a few things though and am looking for ideas from the peanut gallery 😉

The obvious:

Backup/Restore

Security

Profiling

Tuning

I appreciate any and all feedback!

• DevOps would be another area I'd suggest.

If you haven't even tried to resolve your issue, please don't expect the hard-working volunteers here to waste their time providing links to answers which you could easily have found yourself.

• While I appreciate your sentiment, and I of course already did that, I thought I'd approach our community to see what others felt was important, not just some regurgitated blog post.

Thanks

• Hawkeye_DBA wrote:

While I appreciate your sentiment, and I of course already did that, I thought I'd approach our community to see what others felt was important, not just some regurgitated blog post.

Thanks

I assume that was directed at me. I also assume that you were referring to my signature, which, of course, is not directed at any one person in particular, and not to the actual content of my message.

If you haven't even tried to resolve your issue, please don't expect the hard-working volunteers here to waste their time providing links to answers which you could easily have found yourself.

• Unfortunately, the only reply I see is Phil's latest one.  The one before that was flagged as SPAM.

But Phil is well known on this forum, so I doubt his reply was actually SPAM.

But to me, the things you listed are the skills a DBA should have, not specifically a senior DBA.  Even a junior DBA should be able to handle backup and restore and I know database developers that know how to profile (extended events and profiler).