The subscription contains parameter values that are not valid

• Hi,

I've got an issue on SSRS where I have a daily subscription that works most of the time but sometimes the subscription fails with the message "The subscription contains parameter values that are not valid".  This is without any changes to the subscription and when you manually run it, it goes through successfully.  Checking the logs for the specific subscription, the only two records you see are the two below, the execution and the execution completed.

library!WindowsService_18!1b40!11/25/2023-05:00:08:: i INFO: Schedule 20fe61da-9ac9-46b7-809f-694f19f26638 executed at 11/25/2023 05:00:08.

library!WindowsService_18!1b40!11/25/2023-05:00:08:: i INFO: Schedule 20fe61da-9ac9-46b7-809f-694f19f26638 execution completed at 11/25/2023 05:00:08.

Is there anything else I can check on this?  This is on version 15.0.1102.675.

Thanks

• Just to confirm, the logs you reviewed are: C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSRS12.SQL2014\Reporting Services\LogFiles (for SQL Server 2014). If memory serves, this can be configured during install time, so that folder MAY not be accurate for your system.

If not, I'd check that log. I'd also check the server logs and sql agent job logs.

BUT the error you presented tells you what was wrong - the subscription contains parameter values that are not valid. So I would check the parameters in the subscription to ensure that they will ALWAYS be valid for the report. Next, I would recreate the environment where things failed in a test environment that is from the exact time things failed with the report subscription and run the report with data from that time. It is possible that the report succeeds at 10:00 AM but at 9:00 AM that parameter isn't a valid parameter for the report.

The above is all just my opinion on what you should do.