The One Metric to Rule Them All

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item The One Metric to Rule Them All

• You are talking about a measure of flow for a business system.

You need enough flow in whatever you are measuring to establish what a normal baseline looks like.

In price comparison sites if a provider does not supply data for 5 minutes it usually means something is wrong.

• Well, if you know your application and your business, and there are regular patterns/thresholds/KPIs, then it's easy to spot infrastructure (or even app) issues by analyzing queues and trends.

In the project I've been working for the past 4/5 years, that is exactly how we detect something is wrong. We have a massive OLTP, for almost-real-time processing of huge traffic volumes, across different "steps" in a sort of process chain. We know what the queue sizes are supposed to be during the different times of the day/week, so a deviation in those (or any out-of-norm backlog it the queues) immediately triggers the question, "what is happening"?

And through the years we have learned how to quickly correlate each different queue with its corresponding bottleneck factor.

Then, if you serve an application for business users, like we do at the far end of the processing queue, the other factor is the famous "application is slow". If I got a penny for each time I heard those words...

I think the challenge is that you need some degree of maturity both in the application/system and in the support teams, and it takes time and effort (not to mention willingness to get involved) for the different IT support teams to reach these levels of understanding. But once it happens, I find it very useful.

Cheers,

• "the database was always slow - it was always slow" - I keep hearing that metric with regards to one of my applications/databases.