The On-Call Load

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item The On-Call Load

• "Have you never been called outside of working hours?"  I'm really intrigued to know if anyone can answer yes to this question!

With the modern flexible working, working-from-home, etc, plus the use of multiple devices and apps to talk to employees, the line will be quite blurred between working hours and non-working hours for many people; does responding on Microsoft Teams, to a work-related question, count as being called?

I do my best to keep work separate; at my employer, we have an defined on-call rota, with one week (full seven days) on-call, which is shared between 5 or 6 people. It is reasonable, as long as the number of calls is very low; more of a stand-by in case of a serious incident. I do know of places where the on-call is effectively people working overtime, rather than incident response, which is a very different situation.

Andy

• When I was a DBA in a team we shared the on-call rota.  We were given a specific mobile phone when we were on-call.

Senior DBAs would be a 2nd line of defence if the DBA on-call could not resolve the issue.  There was remuneration if being on-call exceeded a bare minimum.  We were expected to check that certain jobs had run and various other logs and metrics.

In theory the development squads had the same setup and deal.  HOWEVER, the beleaguered support desk would ALWAYS ring the DBA phone 1st because they trusted us to ALWAYS pick up.  In most cases the DBA had enough knowledge of the various systems to be able to help resolve the issue, even though, technically, it wasn't a DBA issue.

Overtime the reliability of the various systems became such that fully staffed 24/7 support wasn't needed.  Re-organisation pushed responsibility for systems reliability down into the squads rather than having a specific support function.