The Home Setup

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item The Home Setup

• My wife and I are fortunate to have two spare rooms in the house to accommodate separate offices.  She does physical therapy practice management consulting while I'm a software developer.  We both work primarily from home, although at times we will both work with clients onsite for some months at a time.  However, our home offices are always our base.  As a bonus, in a previous career I ran my own woodworking shop, so in addition to coding, I also enjoy building furniture for myself and friends as a hobby.

This happy circumstance has resulted in my wife and I having well-furnished offices with custom desks and storage that is suited to both our needs and wants.  That, and high-speed internet access is all we need.

In the past, I had a custom computer rack stuffed with servers and spare laptops all linked together with an 8-port KVM switch.  I hosted my own SQL Servers and virtual servers there.  Thanks to the cloud, the rack is gone to a good home and I'm happy now with just a laptop.

Here are several photos of my desk and credenza, as well as my wife's office setup.  We both prefer L-shaped desks...

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
  • jeff-657319 wrote:

In the past, I had a custom computer rack stuffed with servers and spare laptops all linked together with an 8-port KVM switch.  I hosted my own SQL Servers and virtual servers there.  Thanks to the cloud, the rack is gone to a good home and I'm happy now with just a laptop.

Have you posted about the comparative costs of the 2 setups anywhere? I'm almost certain that the silence is a major benefit.

412-977-3526 call/text