The Hassles of Travel

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item The Hassles of Travel

• I have been travelling extensively for nearly 20 years with my job(s). I love being in the places I get to go - certainly they never even vaguely resemble places most people would want to be - and I am amazingly lucky to meet and deal with people who are extraordinarily talented and extremely fascinating. BUT I HATE THE TRAVEL. Endless hours at airports, endless hours in planes and the inevitable checkin to a hotel at 11pm and check out at 4am.

Living in Australia means its a long way to anywhere, travelling for thirty hours via as many as four different planes gets really old really quickly. Sitting in a vehicle for a twelve hour drive is numbing - physically and mentally.

I have tried quitting many many times but, nfortunately for me, I am a junky for the job and the opportunities to meet people and be in wildy remote places - and i am smart enough to realise how blessed I am to be able to do this stuff. The helicopter and boat rides do help to even the balance though!

• I don't travel much for the job, but I do outside of it - and I love it! If it's by plane, I like a window seat so I can watch the take-off, and landing, and everything in between. But mostly I travel on two wheels - it's much more interesting than four. Motorcycles are more fun (yes, even in the rain), and you tend to talk to more people, because everyone wants to know where you're from and where you're going, and what that animal is in the tank bag. (It's a cat, and it's her custom tank bag with a gel pad and everything.) We've been across the US, and across Canada, and maybe some day we'll get down to Mexico.