TDE error when creating certifcate

• Heya...

I have been tasked with setting up TDE on our SQL Server 2019 instance, and am doing so in our DEV environment as I have never done this before.  I managed to create the master key, the certificate, and encrypt a database easily enough; so as a test I decided to try restoring the database to another server.  I've been using this page as a guide:  https://www.sqlshack.com/restoring-transparent-data-encryption-tde-enabled-databases-on-a-different-server/

The problem is, the following step:

CREATE CERTIFICATE MyServerCert 
    FROM FILE = 'C:/TDE/bi_server_Cert.cer'
    WITH PRIVATE KEY
    (
    FILE = 'C:/TDE/bi_server_Cert.pvk',
    ENCRYPTION BY PASSWORD = 'ObviouslyNotActualPassword'
    );
    GO

I am getting this error message - which is apparently pretty common:

Msg 15208, Level 16, State 12, Line 20

The certificate, asymmetric key, or private key file is not valid or does not exist; or you do not have permissions for it.

From what I am seeing online in various blogs and forums is that when SQL Server creates the certificate, it sets the file permissions such that only the account that created it can access it.  Fair enough.  The problem is, I am getting the same error even after making sure that the account has full access.  I've even gone brute-force and granted "Everyone" access to the folder and the certificate files; and I still get the same error.  What am I missing?

• Thanks for posting your issue and hopefully someone will answer soon.

This is an automated bump to increase visibility of your question.

• Figured it out...  sort of.