table relationship

• I have a small application where users mapped to my application will login in and make entries into the system. Each user is mapped to a department and one department can have multiple users. I need to cerate a report in my application where each user can view the entries made my him and all other users of his department only i.e all users should be able to view data of their respective department only.

For this I have a departmentmaster table where I have columns like DepID,DeptCode,Departmentname.

DepId is a auto generated identity column of type integer where values will be inserted by Sql on every new insert starting from 1.

DepCode is a 4 character code of type varchar(4) for the department and Departmentname is the name.

DepCode can have values like 'ACCO' for 'Accounts' department and 'PROC' for 'Processing' department

I also have a Usermaster table where each user is mapped to a single department

Also there is a Transaction table where I am storing the details of the transaction done. In this transaction detail table I have the department column.

My question is that whether in the usermaster table and the Transaction table the column (for department mapping) should be the 'DepId' or the 'DepCode'. Which column would be ideal to have the join on considering I would have to generate reports and have many transactions in the transaction table. How do I consider my table design for this requirement

Thanks

• Hi

The answer for the join type is: the INT column.

I would add the UserId instead of the DepId to the transaction table to avoid data redundancy. So you can use a CTE to get all users of the current users department and join it with the transaction table.

Only in case of very huge tables with millions of data it makes sense to add the DepId to the transaction table for better reporting. Usually this would be done by a data-warehouse database for reporting.

Hope this helps!

Greets

Flo

• [font="Verdana"]I agree with Flo.