Table Partitioning

• Table Partitioning

I have 10 GB ++ database and several huge tables 11 GB ++.

Table A11,491,956 KB

Table B3,434,327 KB

Table C8,988,324 KB

Table D3,264,062 KB

Table E4,579,444 KB

Table F4,966,772 KB

Table G7,788,823 KB

Table H2,159,155 KB

Table I69,221 KB

Table J35,753 KB

etc

Plan to setup table partitioning. Can anyone help and advise for the best practice.

I am new to the table partitioning concept and implemented.

Thank you for your help.

TJ 🙂

• Hi TJ,

much depends on the type of disks you have (whether all your disks are the same speed/ you have some slower ones), whether there is a sensible way to split up your tables into portions that can have read-only/read-write segments, etc. Also, do you need to split later existing partitions. Once you have split the tables, you may consider using aligned indexes if you need to swap out partitions/non-aligned indexes to support some frequent joins that would perform faster if the indexes are partitioned differently.

There is an excellent whitepaper by Kimberly Tripp I can recommend: http://www.sqlskills.com/resources/Whitepapers/Partitioning%20in%20SQL%20Server%202005%20Beta%20II.htm

Regards,

Andras

Andras Belokosztolszki, MCPD, PhD
    GoldenGate Software

• Edwin (10/10/2007)

I have 10 GB ++ database and several huge tables 11 GB ++.

Edwin,

I'm a bit confused by youe measurements, but during some discussions with the people at MS I was told that they usually recommend table partitioning for tables of 30 - 40 GB or larger. I'm sure I've seen it also in some documents but can't find them right now.

So partitioning in your case might not have the desired effect unless you expect a lot of grwoth in the future.

Markus

[font="Verdana"]Markus Bohse[/font]