Table Index HINT

• Hi

I've inherited a very poorly designed database. I have realized that some sprocs are doing Index scans on certain tables. When I apply

<with (Index([index name))> after any from statements . It still does an Index scan on the selected table.

How do I get it to do an Index seek.

Where am I going wrong.

Admitted this is my first attempt at the art of performance tuning.

• There is allot of considerations.

Do you have a where clause and joins. If so post it here so that a index recommendation can be made. In cases like this it is usualy the index or the where clause.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
    Do not reinvent the wheel.
    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

• Applying hints is absolutely the last step in any tuning process. All you're doing is forcing the processor to only use that index for access, but because of the rest of the issues within the query, whatever they might be, it can't perform a seek.

Instead of applying hints, you need to look at the execution plan for the query to determine what columns are being used to gather data, what columns are being output. This can lead you to creating indexes. But you may be hitting things like functions on columns, or implicit data conversions, that will prevent indexes from being used. You need to address any and all of these issues before you start trying to use index or query hints to fix the problem.

Gail Shaw has some good primer articles on performance tuning over at SimpleTalk.com. Look those up. If you need a lot more detail than that, I'd suggest getting a copy of my book.

"The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood"
    - Theodore Roosevelt

Author of:
    SQL Server Execution Plans
    SQL Server Query Performance Tuning

• Part 1: http://www.simple-talk.com/sql/performance/finding-the-causes-of-poor-performance-in-sql-server,-part-1/