Sync data between Two databases

• Hi All,

This is sampath i am new to sqlservercentral community,i am begginer in sql related queries please help me to achieve.

I have two databases in same server assume Realtime database and Backup database these two databases contains 25+ tables.

i have done insert/delete/update in Realtime database automatically Backup database should be updated.

Is there any option other than transactional replication to acheive the above requirement?

Thanks ,

Sampath

• Service broker could handle that.  Pop a trigger on each table that fires off an XML message to the backup database of what changed and a stored procedure on the backup side parses the message and updates the tables appropriately.

You would need at least 1 trigger per table that would fire on insert, update or delete.

another option, if you don't need real time data, would be to have a scheduled job and use SSIS to push the data across every hour.

Advantage of service broker is that it is realtime.  Advantage of SSIS is you can control when the syncs happen and it is easier to test.

With service broker, my recommendation is to reuse conversations where it makes sense.  At my workplace, we have a data push from one system to another that happens infrequently, so we use 1 conversation for the data push even though it updates multiple tables.  On a different system we get approximately 30,000 messages per day, so we have one conversation per table.

Messages inside a conversation will always be  processed in order.  Messages in different conversations can be processed in any order.  So if you have any foreign key constraints, make sure your messages flow in a way that you don't break any FK's.

The above is all just my opinion on what you should do. 
    As with all advice you find on a random internet forum - you shouldn't blindly follow it.  Always test on a test server to see if there is negative side effects before making changes to live!