Support Your Local SQL Server User’s Group

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item Support Your Local SQL Server User’s Group

Brad M. McGehee
    DBA

• Brad,

The SQL Server Users Group in Atlanta is pretty active, and provides a lot of the things you mention in your post. I think one of the best features is access to experts on all aspects of SQL Server - there are DBA experts, developer experts, BI experts, both in the user group and among the speakers. For the most part, I've found the speakers to be very generous with their expertise (plus, they usually bring a book or 2 to give away!)

[font="Tahoma"]Eric Flamm, Flamm Consulting[/font]

• Thank you Brad for the much needed publicity. I have been running the user group where I live for 7 years now and things are looking much better past couple of years. Our groups run purely on speakers and their generosity with time, PASS support and vendor support. We do not enjoy any support from MS (as I understand that differs widely based on region). But other than that things are going great.

• I have to say I thought groups would die out, but as I've attended and presented at a few, I think that there is good information, networking, and camaraderie to be found with these groups.

• Just one additional point. Not all SQL usergroups are PASS chapters (mine isn't yet). So if there isn't a PASS chapter in the area, ask around and see if there's a non-affiliated usergroup in the area

Gail Shaw
    Microsoft Certified Master: SQL Server, MVP, M.Sc (Comp Sci)
    SQL In The Wild: Discussions on DB performance with occasional diversions into recoverability

We walk in the dark places no others will enter
    We stand on the bridge and no one may pass
  • That's a good point to mention that not all SQL Server user groups are not affiliated with PASS. Does anyone know of a published list of SQL Server user groups, no matter what their affiliation is?

Brad M. McGehee
    DBA