Sum with Isnull

• Hello,

I am trying to add multiple row data with ISnull in but I couldn't seem to make it work. My query is like below:

SELECT QueryID, DatasetID, ISNULL (SUM(mm.XMLResults.value ('(./MM)[1]','varchar(100)'),(mm.XMLResults.value ('(./MM)[1]','varchar(100)'))),0)

AS MEDICAL_MM from OVT_RESULTS CROSS APPLY XMLResults.nodes('/row[TITLE = "MM"]') as mm(XMLResults) where QueryID = 105

I know this is very wrong.. I'm new to SQL. thanks so much in advance.

• Does this gets you what you need?

SELECT

QueryID,

DatasetID,

ISNULL (SUM(mm.XMLResults.value ('(./MM)[1]','varchar(100)')),0) AS MEDICAL_MM

FROM OVT_RESULTS

CROSS APPLY XMLResults.nodes('/row[TITLE = "MM"]') as mm(XMLResults)

WHERE QueryID = 105

EDIT: OMG, I just saw that you're converting to varchar. Use a numeric data type instead which is appropriate to your values.

Luis C.
    General Disclaimer:
    Are you seriously taking the advice and code from someone from the internet without testing it? Do you at least understand it? Or can it easily kill your server?

How to post data/code on a forum to get the best help: Option 1 / Option 2
  • As a general rule, it's better to put IsNulls inside Sums rather than outside. This avoids the warning message about NULL values being eliminated:

Select Sum(IsNull([Col],0))

If you haven't even tried to resolve your issue, please don't expect the hard-working volunteers here to waste their time providing links to answers which you could easily have found yourself.

• Phil Parkin (4/26/2016)

As a general rule, it's better to put IsNulls inside Sums rather than outside. This avoids the warning message about NULL values being eliminated:

+1. Agree with Phil.

• Steve Jones - SSC Editor (4/26/2016)

Phil Parkin (4/26/2016)

As a general rule, it's better to put IsNulls inside Sums rather than outside. This avoids the warning message about NULL values being eliminated:

+1. Agree with Phil.