Strategy to load fact table with from SCD type 2 dimension

• I have a business requirement that I need to determine the difference between historic change of a SCD type 2 dimension attribute. At this time the dimension is tracking change to an order. What the managers want to know is when a customer service rep sets a promise date with a customer they have 2 working days (no weekends or holidays) to update that promise date depending on availability and other factors. The managers want to know the initial promise date and the final (any changes within the 2 work day limit) and compare the final promise date to the ship date of the order. I am recording the order throughout its lifecycle (bid, order processing, and invoicing) in the dimension. I plan on loading the fact table with the initial, final and ship dates from the dimension after the order is finally invoiced and there are no more changes to that order. I am new to data warehousing. My predecessor used only stored procedures to load the data warehouse. I am continuing that path until I learn SSIS. Does anyone have any thoughts on the most efficient way of loading this fact table?

Thanks

• MikeBrey (1/18/2012)