Stored Procedure best practices

• Hello,

I am a newbie who started working as a SQL Server developer and I spend my whole day creating stored procedures. I wanted to get some inputs/advices from the senior DBA's to know some best practices while creating stored procedures.

Ex: I got an advice from a senior DBA that stored procedures in 2008 shouldn't be named with sp_xxx as system procedures too are named with sp_xxx this would create a duplicity problem.

Some one also gave me an advice that using comments for each of the parameters helps in the future.

Similarly if you can share anything that could guide me and other newbies would help!

I appreciate you taking your time.

• You might start with:

http://code.msdn.microsoft.com/SQLExamples/Wiki/View.aspx?title=Best%20practices%20%2c%20Design%20and%20Developement%20guidelines%20for%20Microsoft%20SQL%20Server

I would also suggest developing a naming standard for all objects so that you can clearly tell what they are and what they do.

CEWII

• I second Elliot's approach.

A naming convention is something every single shop has to have.

In regards to comments and documentation in general... no ammount of documentation is too much. Don't be shy and write everything you know about the matter.

Author of Understanding Database Administration available at Amazon and other bookstores.

Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.
  • All good ideas and the link Elliot gave has some good information in it. I particullarly like Pauls suggestion on documentation.