Storage SAN

• Hi every one...

My client is changing thier storage from sun to HP (from DAS to SAN).

I am new to SQL Server 2005. What should i do? How to move the Data to the neu

storage?

Would you please help me out?

Thankinh you,

Regards,

Naga Raju A

[font="Arial"]Naga Raju Appani[/font]

• Why is your client changing from DAS to SAN?

Is it for clustering?

• yes, exactly.

I am an Oracle DBA.

But my client required it.

They wanted me to do it.

I don've much idea of it.

Please, would u send me the procedure of doing it.

• Assuming you have downtime, you need to have both sets of storage visible to the server. This would allow you to "detach" and attach" the databases.

- You would "detach" the databases

- You would copy the .mdf, .ndf., .ldf files to the new location.

- Attach the databases.

For moving system databases, a few extra steps here: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/224071

If the server only sees one set of storage, you might see if there is another server that can help you transfer the data. Pathing is the important part in Windows/SQL Server. Paths to data files are stored inside SQL Server.

• TITLE: Microsoft SQL Server Management Studio Express

------------------------------

Attach database failed for Server 'Nagraj-PC\SQL2005'. (Microsoft.SqlServer.Express.Smo)

For help, click: http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink?ProdName=Microsoft+SQL+Server&ProdVer=9.00.3042.00&EvtSrc=Microsoft.SqlServer.Management.Smo.ExceptionTemplates.FailedOperationExceptionText&EvtID=Attach+database+Server&LinkId=20476

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:

An exception occurred while executing a Transact-SQL statement or batch. (Microsoft.SqlServer.Express.ConnectionInfo)

Unable to open the physical file "E:\MSSQL.3\MSSQL\Data\der.mdf". Operating system error 5: "5(error not found)". (Microsoft SQL Server, Error: 5120)

For help, click: http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink?ProdName=Microsoft+SQL+Server&ProdVer=09.00.3042&EvtSrc=MSSQLServer&EvtID=5120&LinkId=20476

BUTTONS: