SSRS Study/Career Advice

• I am a newbie to SQL and currently learning T-SQL (MS-SQL 2008R2 version). I have been working as a Data Validator for past 2 years and would like my next career path to be a SSRS Report Developer. I feel once I get better at TQL and because I am used to creating reports in both Excel and Access this would be an easier transition for me career wise than the other BI Tools SSIS and SSAS.

I have some questions regarding my course of study though and I hope I can get some answers from all of them that I have listed below:

A). I will eventually learn the other BI Tools after SSRS but as I feel that a Report Builder/Writer will be an easier transition for me (this is what I hope but any thoughts on this are welcome). Which of the other BI tools should I learn next that will assist me better as a Report Developer SSIS or SSAS?

B). I have seen jobs for experienced SQL Developers with a request for knowledge of C# and sometimes XML . This will be later studying for me of course but as either Report Developer, or other BI Analyst how necessary will knowing either of these be ?

C) . Is it more crucial to master the T-SQL language or be better at utilizing the tools/services in SSRS when just starting out ?

• Hello,

In my humble opinion I do not think you should focus on only one area of SQL. This limits you tremendously, plus you will have to write T-SQL code for SSRS anyway. I recommend picking up the following book and reading it cover to cover. I have been following this author since SQL 2000 and these books have really helped my SQL game.

Step 1: http://www.amazon.com/Beginning-Microsoft-Server-2008-Programming/dp/0470257016

Step 2: http://www.amazon.com/Professional-Microsoft-Server-2008-Programming/dp/0470257024

• fakedon63 (11/26/2013)