SSIS package to transfer database/backup to server in other domain

• Hi !

I am totally new to SSIS. Need to configure a task to copy database / database back upto other server.

Please suggest.

I tried to do it using Transfer DB task , but the connection to destination server ( diffrent domain) failed.

Please advise.

Thanks !

• Does the login which you use for performing this operation, exist in the destination server ?

[font="Verdana"]- Deepak[/font]

• Yes , It does.

• Or Else We can use back up task followed by FTP tasks to send/Recieve compressed back up files .

What is the cmdshell syntax to compress backup files ?

• [font="Verdana"]Hi,

Try the steps below

*) Provide modify privilege to SQL Service account on the share

*) Take backup to the local drive -- CREATE maint plan to take the backup, schedule this as a job

*) Copy the backup FTP or DOS command -- Make this is step two to copy the current backup to the share drive.

[/font]

• you can copy entire database contents by using export wizard.

Choose destination db to which data is copied and run the wizard.

U can also save package as SSIS and select option rely on sql server and u can schedule the as job by select in steps the SSIS package.

Try it.

Any comments pls.:D

• anjan.ashok (7/1/2008)

you can copy entire database contents by using export wizard.

Choose destination db to which data is copied and run the wizard.

U can also save package as SSIS and select option rely on sql server and u can schedule the as job by select in steps the SSIS package.

Try it.

Any comments pls.:D

I know how to copy db using export wizard but could you please explain how I can save it as SSIS package?

• [font="Verdana"]Hi,

In the meantime, you can try Copy database wizard for the same.

How to use Copy Database Wizard[/url][/font]

• Thanks for all your inputs !