SSIS ForEach Loop never ends, next task executes

• I have built an SSIS package that imports files with xml data into an SQL table. There are 16K files. The package consists of a ForEach file enumerator followed by a Send Mail task.  I have very little experience with xml, this has been a learn-as-I-go process. Within the ForEach, The xml data is inserted into a column in the table. I increment a file counter. I load the file name into a 2nd SQL table.  Then a stored procedure is executed to shred the xml to retrieve 2 elements that are then also inserted into 2 columns in the SQL table. Then the file is copied to a different folder with the date/time appended to the filename (ultimately this will be an sftp location). Lastly, I update a datetime column in the SQL table.  After the ForEach, I send an email.

This ran perfectly for a small sample of 10 files.  Yesterday, I ran it for the full 16k and it seemed as though the ForEach  just stalled.  I received an email (so the last step in the package executed, which should only have happened of the ForEach finished with success), but the ForEach still had the amber circle showing the rotating dial. All 16K files were copied to the destination folder.  I waited for it to complete, over an hour but I ended up stopping/canceling execution.

SQL Server 2016, VS Professional 2017, version 15.8.7.

Any suggestions for investigating this issue? TIA

Snip-eCWImport-SSIS

• This topic was modified 2 years, 3 months ago by  alicesql. Reason: typo correction
  • I've had this happen on multiple occasions. VS and SSIS are just full of bugs. They have been since I first started using them 15 years ago. Don't waste your time trying to troubleshoot this.