SSIS: Best way to Archive production DB

• Hi SSIS Experts,

I am new to SSIS, i got a task to archive the data from production to Archive DB and then delete the data from production keeping 13 months of data in production. There is around 300+ tables of these i have to archive around 50 tables. Out of these 50 table 6 tables have size around 1 TB.

Listing out the the 2 methods which we are planning.

1. Using 50 data flow tasks in a sequence container.

2. Using SELECT * FROM...INSERT INTO.. where table name and column name can be stored in some configuration table and through loop we can archive the data.

Which will be the better option?

Is there any other better method so please let me know.

What precautions(Performanec tips) i have to take while doing the archive process so that it should not affect the Production server?

Please give your suggestion

Thanks

• Just for illustration purposes, let's assume you have a transactional table called Sales. Create another table called SalesHistory.

use StoreOps;

create table Sales

(

SaleID int not null identity(1,1) primary key

, SaleDate datetime default getdate()

);

create index ix_Sales_SaleDate on Sales ( SaleDate );

use StoreOpsArchive;

create table SalesHistory

(

SaleID int not null primary key

, SaleDate datetime

);

You can use either of the following statements to simultaneously delete from one table while inserting the same deleted rows into another table having the same columns.

delete from Sales

output deleted.SaleID, deleted.SaleDate

into StoreOpsArchive.SalesHistory ( SaleD, SaleDate )

where SaleDate < dateadd( month, -13, SaleDate );

If the archive table has exactly the same column layout, the the following is an even more simplified, because it doesn't refernece specific column names.

delete from Sales

output deleted.*

into StoreOpsArchive.SalesHistory