SSAS & SSIS Cube Building

• Hi, I am new to SSAS and SSIS, and I have question regarding cube building.

I created one fact table and 3 dimension tables. When I created a relationship between fact and dimension table, I used surrogate keys.

When you are populating tables, how would you assign a correct surroage keys in fact table?

For example, I have Sales Fact table and Geography Dimension table.

In Sales fact table, I have Geography Key. Let say item was sold in Los Angeles, CA and Surroage key for Los Angeles CA is 1.

When you loading a fact table data, how would you make your entries to have correct sales region value (correct surroage key)?

• Well, you "look up" them through your code or SSIS task. Something like this:

Update A

Set A.geo_FK = B.geo_PK

from fact_sales A Join dim_Geo B

on A.City = B.City and A.State = B.State

--and in this case

Where A.city ='LA' and A.State ='CA'

• You can add a lookup data flow task in your SSIS package. I'm a rookie at this, so I only use the visual designer. 😀

Click your control flow task, then go to the data flow page. On the toolbox, in the transformation area, you'll find lookup. drag the green arrow of your source to the lookup, and the source columns should become available.

It's pretty self explanatory from there, you link the original column in your incoming data to your dimension table, and use the dimension's surrogate key as the output column. That's assuming that you have both the surrogate and the original key values in your dimension table.