SQLCMD Invalid filename

• Hi there,

I am new to SQL Server I am trying to create a new database in SQL Server via cmd on my laptop. However I am getting the message invalid filename. I am using sql server express 2014. The code I have written is:-

C:\Joes2Pros>SQLCMD -S MSI\sqlexpress -E -iCreateDBMovie.sql

I am not sure why this keeps happening as the folder Joes2Pros exists. Any help would be much appreciated.

Regards,

James Elwell

• A frequent confusion for people who are starting to learn SQL Server is to think about what happens from their own perspective. That is not the case. From your perspective, you are submitting commands to a service that might as well be running on a different server. So they reference a folder on their own computer and expect SQL Server to find it - but it doesn't because that folder does not exist on the computer that SQL Server runs on.

In your case, I think (reading between the lines of your post) that the SQL Server service is actually installed and running on your own laptop, so the above does not apply. However, there is a second thing. SQL Server runs as a service on the operating system, and in order to do so has logged on as a service using a "service account" - a special Windows account that can be used to log on as a service but not to log on as a user, but that otherwise is very similar to user accounts. When you ask SQL Server to do something, it will be done in the security context of that account. So if (as I am currently assuming) you request SQL Server to create a database at a specific location on the file system, and that location is not the default location for creating databases, then the SQL Server service account will need to have permissions to create files in that location.