SQL2005 constantly using up 50%+ cpu.. help?

• I am a new DBA to SQL2005.. We have a SQL Server instance that seems to be very heavy on CPU; using up 50-75% CPU consistently. The DB hosts Axway/EDI, which is not really that busy (about 30 transactions/min).

There are no maintenance plans setup on the Server so I checked to see how badly the Indexes are fragmented, below are the top 2 tables (in size):

DBCC SHOWCONTIG scanning 'TRANSACTION0' table...

Table: 'TRANSACTION0' (213575799); index ID: 0, database ID: 5

TABLE level scan performed.

- Pages Scanned................................: 693156

- Extents Scanned..............................: 86659

- Extent Switches..............................: 86658

- Avg. Pages per Extent........................: 8.0

- Scan Density [Best Count:Actual Count].......: 99.98% [86645:86659]

- Extent Scan Fragmentation ...................: 32.96%

- Avg. Bytes Free per Page.....................: 2424.0

- Avg. Page Density (full).....................: 70.05%

DBCC SHOWCONTIG scanning 'TRANSMISSION' table...

Table: 'TRANSMISSION' (165575628); index ID: 0, database ID: 5

TABLE level scan performed.

- Pages Scanned................................: 122786

- Extents Scanned..............................: 15355

- Extent Switches..............................: 15354

- Avg. Pages per Extent........................: 8.0

- Scan Density [Best Count:Actual Count].......: 99.96% [15349:15355]

- Extent Scan Fragmentation ...................: 97.53%

- Avg. Bytes Free per Page.....................: 1327.4

- Avg. Page Density (full).....................: 83.60%

Microsoft recommends running a REBUILD on anything 30%> and up, I was planning on doing this on both of the tables, however since this was never done before I was wondering how long it would take to do this?

The first table is 5GB with a 750mb Index, and 2nd is 1GB with a 500mb Index. The machine is a dual-core Intel Xeon 2.6ghz with 8GB ram.