SQL Table Primary and Foreign Keys

• I am new to using Primary Keys and Foreign Keys.

I am looking to develop an website administration backend and was wondering the best way to deal with 'Deleting' Sale Orders and Order details from two SQL tables flagged with primary and foriegn keys for this kind of relational data.

Here is an example of what i mean:

Table 1 = Ordersummary (PK = OrderID)

Table 2 = Orderdetails (PK=OrderdetailsID, FK=OrderID)

How would i go about deleting an entire order?

If i delete the ordersummary record will it automatically delete the orderdetails records attached to that OrderID? Or vice-versa?

Or will it simply error due to the foreign key relationship?

Apart from turning off the foreign keys and running 2 delete statements inside a loop, i am looking for some guidance to keep the foreign key relationships and still perform an effecient order deletion.

• If you have set up cascading deletes (*shudder*), you can just delete the summary record, and the detail will go as well.

I never turn on cascading deletes myself, so I'd delete the detail (or set the records inactive if there's such a field in the table - I also don't like deleting any data), then delete the parent (or set inactive). It won't affect your relationship if there are no other dependencies.

That's the short answer. I'm assuming you've taken into account the impact of deleting order information from your database, have appropriate backups, etc.

R

• bkirk (5/31/2009)

Apart from turning off the foreign keys and running 2 delete statements inside a loop, i am looking for some guidance to keep the foreign key relationships and still perform an effecient order deletion.

You wouldn't have to "turn off FK's" to delete. You would need to delete all child records first then the parent record. Use a stored procedure and put the logic in there.

• Thanks for both posts.

So if i understand this correctly: