SQL Server stops responding

• From time to time... 2min - 15min the SQL server will stop responding... In Management studio this means that all of a sudden the login box comes up and it times out.

There is nothing in the SQL log or the windows server logs... the 24 CPU's range less than 15% and the data hard drives between 30% - 55%.

What is going on??? Where should I look?

Thanks.

• You might want to check the NIC on the SQL Server and any errors reported by the network gear.

And then again, I might be wrong ...
    David Webb

• THe Broadcom Advanced Control Suite does not seem to have a log.

It does have some running counts... by frame...

660571618 sent ok

178420228 Rec ok

5 Out of Buffer

59392752 Large Send Offload Trans Req

0 Rec with CRC Error

0 Rec with Align Error

0 Trans with Collision

• I'm not a network expert, but that doesn't show any of the problems I might have been looking for, though you might want to look at this also:

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/gg162709(v=WS.10).aspx

Does the server appear to stop for everyone or just for your connection?

David Webb

• Are you connecting to the SQL server via ssms on your desktop, or rdp ?

Cheers

Vultar

• This effects all the SQL server jobs connecting to this server, and all users connected. So for users we have both Management Studio, and .Net Apps.

• Can you log on to the actual server the SQL Server is running on during these outages? Is it behaving normally or is it also frozen?

David Webb

• dwilliscp (7/26/2013)

This effects all the SQL server jobs connecting to this server, and all users connected. So for users we have both Management Studio, and .Net Apps.

A key here is: when this happens, can you connect locally? That is, if you have SSMS running on the server, can you connect to SQL Server from this local instance of SSMS?