SQL Server Simple Ad-hoc Query - Oracle Equivalent Needed

• SQL Server Simple Ad-hoc Query - Equivalent needed in Oracle?

I am an experienced SQLServer developer tasked with retrieving data from an Oracle Database for a new project.  I am needing to do a few adhoc queries against the Oracle DBMS and the only tool I have available to me is the TOAD freeware version.  So far I have become frustrated at the things I am forced to do to perform a simple ad-hoc query against an Oracle DBMS, specifically with incorporating use of a variable in the query.  I am not looking to start another SQLServer vs Oracle debate but just to find out from other folks if there is an equivalent script I can run in Oracle Syntax to perform in this case a smple adhoc query including a variable.

SQl Server query:

DECLARE @CategoryID  int;

SET @CategoryID = 8

SELECT * FROM dbo.Products WHERE CategoryID = @CategoryID

The sample above is from the Northwind database, and I want to perform the same type of query against an Oracle DBMS that returns multiple rows (opposite of using INTO as I've run into) as does the above query.  So far the only way I've read to do this is to define a REF CURSOR but have had no luck in getting to work, let alone get over my instinctual bad feelings on use of explicit cursors.

If anyone could provide the equivalent syntax in Oracle PL\SQL that would do the same thing as the SQLServer sample provided above I would greatly appreciate it.

PS.  I first tried to use the database admin tools VS.Net 2003 to connect to and query the Oracle DBMS, has anybody else run into the apparent bug where the SQL parser, beside making your nicely formatted SQL very ugly, separates the colon and equal sign for the variable assignment in a DECLARE statement (i.e. 'DECLARE period := '200512') so that an error message is returned?  Seems like I'm battling both Bill and Larry here.

Thanks Much,

Dennis   

maddog

• In TOAD query window, enter the following: