SQL server restore - attaching all data and log files - should I do master etc?

• Hi everyone

We've had a critical O/S issue on a server that runs SQL2012 Std Ed. Data is 100% intact, but server failed to boot after an update & restart. We couldn't get it back (long story but working theory is that EFI partition got corrupted when PSU failed while we were trying to fix the original issue) and had to eventually reinstall O/S.

I've now reinstalled SQL 2012 as well and want to start attaching all the DB's (I have the latest MDF and LDF files and everything appears to be intact - last shut down was controlled as this was originally for planned maintenance). My background is more dev than DBA, so a little out of my depth here.

Question I have is what is best practice here and what is contained in all the standard MS SQL databases (master, model, etc).

For instance, I don't know what jobs were running on the server - is this info in the master DB? If so, is it safe to replace the new master.mdf that the install created with my old one? Any specific procedure for this or can I simply shut down SQL, replace the file, start it up again? Is there a procedure like this to quickly restore everything (from a SQL point of view) to what it was before?

------------------------------------------
    Anton
    www.sqlsqllittlestar.com

• Hi antonstar,

msdb holds Agent jobs. master holds logons, linked servers and system settings (and master database keys used to encrypt certificates), and model is the template database used when any new databases are created on the instance. I highly recommend restoring all of these databases.

https://www.sqlskills.com/blogs/jonathan/downgrading-sql-server-editions/ could help - this is a guide for reinstalling SQL Server to a lower SKU, which I used a couple of weeks back - it's similar to your situation in that you're restoring/recovering a SQL instance over a fresh install.