sql server books

• I am just starting out in the database field.

I am taking oracle in college. I understand that sql server is what everyone is turning to.I want to be able to get my mcdba certification. I am all about cheap so I am going to do this through self study. I need some advice on the best way to get my cert. and what books to get.

Thanks,

Ken

• I have been programming in C and Unix for four years before changing to SQL server.

Personally I have always considered the Microsoft training books to be the best to start of with. Then perhaps I would get one of the wrox books to give you a more detailed and industry insight.

• MSPress has some good books, just not necessarily the ones on certification. Sybex usually has pretty good cert prep books as does ExamCram. The Transcender CD's are also good. Sometimes you can pick up the books used to save some money. Even if you full price its tons cheaper than going to a series of exam prep classes.

Im sure you know, but let me say this anyway - passing the tests isnt enough, you have to know SQL to get a SQL job. There is a lot of stuff not tested that is pretty important. Studying for the exams will force you to learn a lot, but there is still more to go after that. That's when books like Inside SQL Server from MSPress, Programming SQL Server from Wrox, Transact SQL from Apress, etc...help you grow further.

Andy

http://www.sqlservercentral.com/columnists/awarren/

• Yes, get used books at Amazon. When you search a book, they show who's selling used ones. I've bought 7 books in the last two weeks ALL under $10.00. Last week there was a SQL Server 2000 Administration book that someone had listed for a penny (plus $3.49 shipping). I can't imagine why, but I jumped on that one.