SQL Server 2005 Locked Logins

• I'm very new to SQL Server 2k5, but I'm a little surprised with the implementation of the UNLOCK statement for a SQL Server standard login. It seems that the only way a sysadmin can unlock a sql server account that has been locked out because of invalid attempts is to perform an alter login statement specifying a new password for that login, in a format similar to this:

ALTER LOGIN <login_name> WITH PASSWORD = 'THE_New_Pwd' UNLOCK

What surprises me is that sysadmins are being required to provide a new password to unlock an account, when they may not be allowed to know that password in the first place (even though they can change it)

It's this the only way SQL Server allows sysadmins to unlock a sql server login? Or is there a better way? I'm hoping for something like this:

exec master..sp_unlock '<login_name>'

I'd appreciate anybody that can shed some light into this concern

The truth is just a point of view accepted by majority

David Stohlmann

• I think I can answer your question. The reason a login is locked is because there were three consecutive invalid login attempts right? Say a hacker is trying to do that and failed. So the user who is not aware of this goes to sysadmin and asks him to unlock the account. If the hacker is close to cracking the password for that login and the sysadmin doesn't for a change even if it is locked means that the hacker has more changes of breaking in. In essence this behavior is by design for added security.

In practice a sysadmin should do something like this:

ALTER LOGIN <login_name> WITH PASSWORD = 'THE_New_Pwd' MUST_CHANGE, UNLOCK

so that the user is forced to change it. This way the sysadmin won't know the new password of that user and also the hacker has to start all over again to guess the login's password.