SQL Server 2005 job log

• I have SQL Server 2005 and one of my daily job fails everyday and i need to see the kob log. can someone tell me where are the job logs save or steps to see the job logs? please i am a newbie for SQL Server.

• SSMS

-Object Explorer

--SQL Server Agent

---Jobs

---RightClik the Job

-----View History for the Logs

-----Properties to see/edit the Steps

-MarkO

"You do not really understand something until you can explain it to your grandmother" - Albert Einstein

• thanks a lot. and is there any other way to see the log, or aqny other location where the logs are saved?

• HI

MSDB is the database where all this info is saved in.

you may use sp_help_job to see job info or use similar procedures, or you can stroll through the different tables in MSDB to see what you're seeking.

Can you be more percise and define what you are trying to achieve so I can help you with a code sample?

Tal Ben Yosef

• You can get job logs from msdb..sysjobhistory table

Modify the below code with your need

select b.name, run_date, run_time , message from msdb..sysjobhistory a, msdb..sysjobs b

where a.job_id = b.job_id

and b.name like 'JOB NAME'

order by run_date desc , run_time desc

In sysjobhistory table step_id = 0 represent final output, so if you are interested in that output alone put it in where clause, or mostly we are not interested in final output but other step output in that case put step_id 0

You can also put a "top 2" or any number to see just the last output.

• but when i run that script it displays 0 rows. but is there any other place where i can see the detailed logs. I mean the actual l,ogs. please help me...............

• Those are the actual logs. MSDB is where SQL Agent writes all job-related logs. If there's nothing in the table, it means that either somone's deleted them or SQL Agent is set with a low retention for job history.