SQL Server 2005 and VMware

• We've got a new server purposed to be our new production database server. The system administrator would like to put VMware onto this machine and run SQL 2005 from it. I've never done that sort of thing before, so I wanted to ask you all if you've had any experience at this and how well it works.

Kindest Regards, Rod Connect with me on LinkedIn.

• There are lots of versions of VMWare. The particular version being used will determine if it will work.

Even the versions that do work are only partially supported by Microsoft. You have to be in a support tier that includes supporting SQL in a virtualized environment, you have to be using a supported virtualization package (VMWare does have some), and then if you do have a problem you have to be prepared to have MS tell you that you need to move the server to a physical envrionment for troubleshooting (they can play the blame game).

I suppose it would probably be easier to use Hyper-V since it would be a one-vendor solution.

I'm not a big fan of using SQL Server on VMWare in production environments. In development environments, it has been hit-or-miss for me.

• Here is the MS support information link http://support.microsoft.com/kb/897615

• Michael Earl (7/17/2008)

Here is the MS support information link http://support.microsoft.com/kb/897615

OK, I see by this article[/url] that Microsoft has a working relationship with Novell for virtualization software and Microsoft's software. Is VMware from Novell?

Kindest Regards, Rod Connect with me on LinkedIn.

• i am using VM for my production server, i am using SQL 2005 (64 bit), plan carefully accroding to ur requirements and it works without any problem, it have got all my servers on VM(3.5)

• there is also s discussion going on here

http://www.sqlservercentral.com/Forums/Topic517259-361-1.aspx