SQL Design Standards

• I've noticed a number of interesting posts on this site about what rights DBA's and Coders should have on Production and Dev environments, and also articles on VCS's and keeping things under control. My question is along these lines, but it's about how to help DB Coders learn the design of the DB so they can write Stored Procedures correctly and quickly.

I am A Database Designer that hates Coding, I have a team of Coders working to produce the Stored Procedures etc required for the Database I'm working on.

I have to communicate to the Coders exactly what I require from them in order for our ASP site to work.

It is a VERY complex database and has a HIGH learning curve.

I'm not being very successful with communicating what I want the SP's to do.

My current way of describing is something like this

SP Name: procSampleSP

Parameters: @Sample_ID, @SampleDate, @SampleDesc

Create new Record in tblParent using the Description and Date parameters

Copy the contents of tblChild where the Parent_ID = @Sample_ID to the newly created tblParent record's ID

Return the new ID of the tblParent

As a bit of background, our DB is a very industry specific DB and has lot's of terminology and concepts that the coders just don't understand - I'm sure there are other industries out there that have similar problems eg Medical, Legal etc.

Is there a standard way of defining this pseudo code so that it can be understood by the coders? or how can I improve on this example without writing so much that I could have written the SP myself? I would be interested in knowing what strategies other organisations use to handle this dilema.

Thanks

Jodie Miners