SQL commands to learn

• Can anybody recommend a good online guide to SQL commands? Or at least a list of the ones I should learn first?

• vxhughes (6/4/2013)

Can anybody recommend a good online guide to SQL commands? Or at least a list of the ones I should learn first?

Have a look at Itzik Ben-Gan's T-SQL fundamentals books. It's worth the investment to get it..

• vxhughes (6/4/2013)

Can anybody recommend a good online guide to SQL commands? Or at least a list of the ones I should learn first?

It all depends on what you want to do. Administration or development. I use more system related commands in my queries whereas a devloper would find it a toatl waste of time.

• SQLSACT (6/5/2013)

vxhughes (6/4/2013)

Have a look at Itzik Ben-Gan's T-SQL fundamentals books. It's worth the investment to get it..

I would second this! I purchased this book while i'm still learning SQL myself. This book has helped me so much and its also a good idea to pickup MSSQL Developer Edition to work along side with.

• bgraham 64271 (6/5/2013)

SQLSACT (6/5/2013)

vxhughes (6/4/2013)

I would second this! I purchased this book while i'm still learning SQL myself. This book has helped me so much and its also a good idea to pickup MSSQL Developer Edition to work along side with.

I'll chime in here as well and say yep, you want that book.

• OTF (6/6/2013)

bgraham 64271 (6/5/2013)

SQLSACT (6/5/2013)

vxhughes (6/4/2013)

I'll chime in here as well and say yep, you want that book.

I will fourth this; Ben-Gan is excellent. W3Schools (as already mentioned) is your best bet for a super-basic SQL "101" tutorial. http://w3schools.com/sql/default.asp. I would check this out first if you are new to SQL.

"I cant stress enough the importance of switching from a sequential files mindset to set-based thinking. After you make the switch, you can spend your time tuning and optimizing your queries instead of maintaining lengthy, poor-performing code."

-- Itzik Ben-Gan 2001