SQL 2008 R2 Express Advanced Services

• For some reason I took the default install on the entire package. I have been able to use the database server with no problem. I now want to publish something to my local computer and it tells me I have insufficient privileges to do anything with reporting services. I can't even go to the main URL to administer it. The error message I get is:

Reporting Services error (The permissions granted to user ... are insufficient for performing this operation.) . I have found many Google searches but none of them resolve the problem. I have taken full control over all of the RS folders and I am an administrator too.

I am really tired of beating my head over what should not be a problem. Does anyone have any ideas why I can't publish a report to my local reporting services?

Thanks

Rob

• Do you recall being provided the option to specify the administrator password for the SQL Server instance during the installation process? Had you not just done a default install, you would have had opportunity to make your user id an administrator from SQL's perspective. You'll still need to do that, but you'll need admin rights in SQL to do so. If you can find the password for the SQL login "sa", you can login using SQL authentication with the sa id, and then set up your current login as a member of the fixed database role "sysadmin". Failing same, you'll need to provide more detail...

Steve

Steve (aka sgmunson) πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    Rent Servers for Income (picks and shovels strategy)