SQL 2005 inplace upgrade

• Hello Gurus

We are upgrading SQL 2005 32 bit to 64 bit SQL Server 2005. I am kind of new to this. can you help me out with how and what steps do I need to follow. I learnt that during upgradation the SSIS pacakges migration might be an issue? can you please throw some light and guide me in a correct direction.

Will be waiting for your replies

Thank you very much

Ali

• Of course moving to 64 Bit brings problems with SSIS with respect to 64 Bit drivers for all the Data Sources your SSIS Packages are using.

Also my suggestion is consider your application downtime when performing In Place upgrade, since any issues will make you start from scratch, i.e your previous SQL System may not work and the newer Version may not work, resulting you uninstall everything and start installing the previous version (32 Bit). Do you have a game plan for this?

I would suggest testing the applications, SSIS packages on a separate system with 64 Bit SQL installed, a side-by-side upgrade.

Bru Medishetty

Blog -- LearnSQLWithBru

Join on Facebook Page Facebook.comLearnSQLWithBru

Twitter -- BruMedishetty

• I would second Bru's advice to use a second system for testing, but since you could easily miss something in test, I'd also recommend a side-by-side upgrade for the real server. It's much safer and since you really need test hardware, you could easily move the existing system to test once you've upgraded.

• Bru Medishetty (12/6/2009)

Of course moving to 64 Bit brings problems with SSIS with respect to 64 Bit drivers for all the Data Sources your SSIS Packages are using.

Also my suggestion is consider your application downtime when performing In Place upgrade, since any issues will make you start from scratch, i.e your previous SQL System may not work and the newer Version may not work, resulting you uninstall everything and start installing the previous version (32 Bit). Do you have a game plan for this?